OPEN NAVIGATION
CLOSE NAVIGATION
NL / FR / EN



From 2017 onwards, les ballets will invest (besides production) in development by launching a residency program with a major asset: coaching by director Alain Platel and/or by dramaturge Hildegard De Vuyst. The underlying motivation to start this program comes from a need to 'share' which is probably related to age (of the organization, not the individuals) but also to the zeitgeist. Sharing is new for having. In addition to that, there is the need to collaborate with generation of creators, with people from here and elsewhere. They learn from us, we learn from them. It is very challenging to start the dialogue with other ways of thinking and working. Both Platel and De Vuyst have gained experience in these matters: Platel with Pieter & Jacob Ampe and young creators from the School of Arts (KASK), De Vuyst with Performing Arts Summer School (PASS) in Palestine, to name a few examples.

The basis is residencies of one month, in one of our two studios. The input is always artistic but whenever necessary, it can also be logistic, administrative or technical.

Candidates for residency can apply at any time.
There is no preset profile for the applying artist although there is a slight preference for the emotional, visceral, energetic and non-verbal work, without excluding the conceptual. We pay extra attention to work for big stages as a challenge for young artists. After application, we will just have to talk (several times maybe) and see if a one-month-collaboration is necessary and possible, whether it can make a real difference, taken into account all time and money constraints.

What could it be? Residencies can be useful in three stages of the creation process: at the beginning of a process, when an existing project with potential got lost somewhere and needs re-thinking and in the final stage, the fine-tuning. Weekly showings can help the people of les ballets to think about the way the performance could follow its way after the residency.

What not to expect? Les ballets C de la B will never bring residencies to the stage or organize tours. Residencies are to be seen as part of a working process. They should be more than just research, they are an important step in the creation process. Residencies are not about receiving carte blanche nor a blank cheque. They will always have to be negotiated.

The residency program receives the label "In Co-laBo". These productions are developed in Co-laBo and are no co-productions, even if les ballets invests in them financially.

Would you like more information or apply for a residency in Co-laBo? Please contact Hildegard De Vuyst: hildegard@lesballetscdela.be

OUVRIR NAVIGATION
FERMER NAVIGATION
NL / FR / EN



A partir de 2017, les ballets C de la B élargit son terrain de production vers le développement en lançant un programme de résidence dont le grand atout est: le coaching par metteur-en-scène Alain Platel et/ou dramaturge Hildegard De Vuyst. L'idée est née d'un besoin de 'partager', sans doute due à l'âge (de l'organisation, pas des individus) mais surtout à l'esprit du temps. Quand on partage, on a. S'y ajoutent une urgence de collaborer avec une nouvelle génération de jeunes créateurs d'ici et ailleurs, une opportunité de transmettre son expertise, une envie d'être alimenté, d'être défié, d'entrer en dialogue, d'échanger des idées opposées et on entre dans un domaine où Platel et De Vuyst ont gagné leurs galons. Platel avec Pieter & Jacob Ampe et de jeunes talents de la School of Arts (KASK), De Vuyst avec la Performing Arts Summer School (PASS) en Palestine, pour citer quelques exemples.

Nous partons de résidences d'un mois, dans un des deux studios des ballets. On part toujours d'un soutien artistique, mais en cas de besoin, une aide logistique, administrative ou technique peut arriver aussi.

Les demandes de résidences peuvent être faites à tout moment.

Les profils des résidents peuvent être très diversifiés. Il y a une petite préférence pour ce qui est l'émotionnel, le viscéral, l'énergique et sans paroles, sans pour autant exclure le conceptuel. Et nous portons une attention particulière au travail sur grande scène comme un défi supplémentaire pour les jeunes artistes.

Admission au programme de résidence n'est donc pas liée à des conditions artistiques préalables. En entamant le dialogue, nous verrons si une collaboration d'un mois est nécessaire et possible, si elle peut faire la différence, compte tenu des restrictions de temps et d'argent à notre disposition.

A quoi vous attendre? Les résidences sont utiles à trois moments dans un processus de création: au début/ le démarrage d'un projet artistique; au moment où un projet existant avec un potentiel évident est coincé en quelque sorte et a besoin d'être revisé; à la fin pour l'assemblage final. Des 'showings' une fois par semaine présentés à l'équipe des ballets C de la B permettent à ces derniers de suivre les évolutions et de réfléchir sur la course/viabilité de la représentation après la résidence.

A quoi ne pas vous attendre? Les ballets C de la B ne mettra jamais une résidence dans les salles, n'organisera pas de tournées. Les résidences ne sont pas un travail à part entière. Elles dépassent le stade des recherches et elles sont toujours une étape dans un processus de création. Etre admis pour une résidence ne signifie pas qu'on reçoit carte blanche ou un chèque en blanc. Chaque résidence sera le fruit de négociations.

Le programme de résidence reçoit l'étiquette "En Co-laBo". Ce sont des productions créées en Co-laBo, ce ne sont donc pas des co-productions même s'il y a un soutien financier.

Une résidence en Co-laBo vous intéresse? Contactez Hildegard De Vuyst : hildegard@lesballetscdela.be