OPEN NAVIGATION
CLOSE NAVIGATION
NL / FR / EN



Coup Fatal: KVS / lesballets C de la B (c) Beeldstorm

Serge Kakudji, Rodriguez Vangama, Fabrizio Cassol, Alain Platel

C O U P   F A T A L



In Coup Fatal 13 musicians from Kinshasa, conducted by Rodriguez Vangama, are engaged with the repertoire of various baroque composers. The Congolese counter-tenor Serge Kakudji selected the arias. The original music is enriched with the diversity of the musicians. Around the vocal parts of Serge Kakudji, a whole new contemporary universe is created, both in music and image. This new music integrates in a natural and exuberant way the baroque phrases with traditional and popular Congolese music, rock and jazz.
 
The Brussels composer Fabrizio Cassol  and guitar player Rodriguez Vangama arethe musical directors, while director Alain Platel and dancer Romain Guion (C(H)ŒURS etc.) search for a theatrical form together with the team. The set is designed in collaboration with the artist Freddy Tsimba. In Kinshasa he creates huge, disturbing sculptures of cartridge cases which he collects in Congolese war zones.
 
Coup Fatalis inspired by the grand gestures of the perky ‘sapeurs’, the dandies of Kinshasa. No need to be ironical, the exuberance doesn’t have to be reduced. Against a background of cartridge cases, movements have to be loud and big, the rawness provoking. Rather than a tribute to baroque music, Coup Fatal  is a tribute to the unrelenting elegance of the Congolese.
 
The concert originated as part of Connexion Kin, the KVS arts festival in Kinshasa. Paul Kerstens, the KVS Congo coordinator, and Serge Kakudji asked a lot of inventive musicians from Kinshasa to work on several baroque arias. Following several performances in Kinshasa, Coup Fatal will have his world première in Vienna and will be touring a series of European theatre.

OUVRIR NAVIGATION
FERMER NAVIGATION
NL / FR / EN



Coup Fatal: KVS / lesballets C de la B (c) Beeldstorm

Serge Kakudji, Rodriguez Vangama, Fabrizio Cassol, Alain Platel

C O U P   F A T A L



Dans Coup Fatal un orchestre de 13 musiciens de Kinshasa sous la direction de Rodriguez
Vangama, s’inspirent du répertoire baroque de plusieurs compositeurs. Le contre-ténor congolais Serge Kakudji a selectionné les arias et la musique d’origine se voit enrichie par les diversités des musiciens. Au départ des parties vocales, on recrée un nouvel univers contemporain au niveau du son et de l’image. Cette nouvelle musique fusionne d’une façon naturelle et exubérante phrases baroques, musique congolaise traditionnelle et populaire, rock et jazz.
 
La compositeur bruxellois Fabrizio Cassol et guitariste Rodriguez Vangama se charge de la direction musicale. Avec les musiciens, le metteur en scène Alain Platel et danseur Romain Guion (entre autres C(H)ŒURS), cherchent une forme théâtrale. Le décor se réalise en collaboration avec Freddy Tsimba. À Kinshasa il fait des sculptures inquiétantes en grandeur naturelle, en utilisant des douilles de munition, rassemblées aux secteurs des combats congolais.
 
S’ajoutent à l’arrogance et le machisme du Coup Fatal baroque le rayonnement et la coquetterie des ‘sapeurs’, les dandys de Kinshasa. Pas besoin d’ironie, l’exubérance est légitime. Sur un fond de scène de douilles de munition, il faut bien que les gestes soient grands et fanfarons, que le fade soit criant et défiant. Plutôt qu’un tribut à la musique baroque, Coup Fatal est une ode à cette élégance sans pardon des Congolais.