OPEN NAVIGATION
CLOSE NAVIGATION
NL / FR / EN




Frank Van Laecke, Steven Prengels, Alain Platel
 
E N   A V A N T ,   M A R C H E !
 
 
For En avant, marche! the directors Frank Van Laecke and Alain Platel have taken inspiration from the tradition of musical groups which for decades have been part of the social and cultural life. The musical direction is in the hands of Steven Prengels. At every venue, the four actors and seven musicians will be joined by a local brass band or marching band on stage.
 
A miniature society 
Music clubs – brass and other wind bands – have been part of the social and cultural life for decades. In 2012, this inspired the Huis van Alijn museum in Ghent to present a much appreciated exhibition of photos and traditional objects from past and present, under the title En avant, marche! In cooperation with Stephan Vanfleteren and other photographers, this also led to a book of photos, containing both new portraits of musicians and majorettes and black & white pictures from the archives.
 
Now, under the same title – En avant, marche! – it is the directors Frank Van Laecke and Alain Platel who, together with the composer Steven Prengels, have taken inspiration from this tradition. This is their first joint production since Gardenia, the theatre production that brought them so much success at home and abroad in 2010, among other places at the Avignon Festival and in Great Britain, where it was nominated for the prestigious Olivier Awards in 2012. For this new production, Van Laecke and Platel approach the world of music clubs as a ‘miniature society’ in its own right: a collective of very different individuals who try to keep to one and the same marching direction. An arrangement that is kept as well as possible, sometimes by trial and error, and as such is a metaphor for our society as a whole.
 
A broad musical palette
En avant, marche!The title evokes a musical universe of binary time signatures and staccato rhythms, with parades in major and funeral processions in minor. Anyone who recently saw tauberbach(directed by Alain Platel, musical director Steven Prengels) will know that Steven Prengels’ palette is broader than that, much broader. A few months before the rehearsals of En avant, marche! started, Prengels said: ‘There will probably be a march in the performance, but we especially want a great deal of experimentation: differentiated sounds, soundscapes, layered sound, etc. We want to create a performance in which the action on stage develops as much as possible out of the music. In addition, we do not limit ourselves to the march repertoire. Alain Platel is happy to take inspiration from the well-known classical repertoire, and in this project this is mainly music from the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. Ranging from Ludwig Van Beethoven, Giuseppe Verdi and Gustav Mahler to the Brabançonne. We arrange this music, sometimes for brass and percussion, sometimes just for singers… For the orchestration, apart from drums, I particularly want to use brass instruments: trumpet, horn, bugle, euphonium, tuba. This will lead us away from the triumphal celebratory music with which a wind orchestra is often associated.With instruments like the tuba and horn we can go very deep, very intense, almost like a chorale.’
 
Of the performer-musicians Steven Prengels says: ‘Apart from the actors we want an ensemble of seven musicians on stage. The actors will join in too and the musicians will join in the acting. We are also cooperating with the renowned brass band De Leiezonen, which also played in Aida at NTGent (directed by Frank Van Laecke). They will record several pieces on tape, which we shall then incorporate into the soundscape. Finally, we will work togheter with local brass bands and marching bands at the venues where we perform En avant, marche! All these components together form the basic material with which we will experiment during rehearsals.”
 
Steven Prengels knows the world of brass bands through and through. He played in one when he was a child and later conducted it. The title En avant, marche! indicates that music is a driving force in the lives of the people on stage. And something they can hold on to. ‘Music as a metaphor for something that transcends the anecdotalism of a brass band. Something much bigger, perhaps society, or life as a whole.’

OUVRIR NAVIGATION
FERMER NAVIGATION
NL / FR / EN



 
Frank Van Laecke, Steven Prengels, Alain Platel
 
E N   A V A N T ,   M A R C H E !
 
 
Pour En avant, marche! les metteurs en scène Frank Van Laecke et Alain Platel se laissent inspirer par la tradition des associations musicales, qui font partie du paysage social et culturel depuis déjà des décennies. La direction musicale est dans les mains de Steven Prengels. Les quatre acteurs et sept musiciens sur scène, seront accompagnés d’une harmonie ou d’une fanfare locale.
 
Le microcosme
Les associations musicales – fanfares, harmonies et autres orchestres à vent – font partie du paysage social et culturel depuis déjà des décennies. En 2012, cette tradition a donné l’idée au musée gantois Huis van Alijn de monter une exposition, d’ailleurs très appréciée, donnant à voir photos et pièces de notre patrimoine d’hier et d’aujourd’hui: En avant, marche! En collaboration avec le photographe Stephan Vanfleteren et d’autres parties prenantes, les organisateurs ont aussi édité un livre d’illustrations photographiques, sorte de recueil compilant à la fois des portraits neufs de musiciens et de majorettes, mais aussi des images d’archives en noir et blanc.
 
C’est à présent au tour des metteurs en scène Frank Van Laecke et Alain Platel, en collaboration avec le compositeur Steven Prengels, de se laisser inspirer par cette tradition . Notre trio n’avait plus travaillé ensemble depuis Gardenia, une production qui leur avait valu un grand succès en 2010, dans le pays comme à l’étranger, notamment au festival d’Avignon, mais aussi en Grande-Bretagne, où ce spectacle a été nominé en 2012 aux prestigieuses Olivier Awards. Dans ce nouveau spectacle, Frank Van Laecke et Alain Platel nous proposent d’aborder le phénomène des société musicales sous l’angle du « microcosme »: un collectif d’individus aux trajectoires les plus éclectiques qui tente de marcher dans une seule et unique direction et de conserver son cap. Ce contrat est respecté aussi bien que possible, parfois au prix de chutes ou d’erreurs, et prend à ce titre valeur de métaphore pour la société dans son entier.
 
Une palette musicale très large
En avant, marche!, voilà un titre qui évoque à lui tout seul un univers musical où la mesure sera binaire et les rythmes, pointés, où les parades en tonalité majeure succéderont aux cortèges funèbres en tonalité mineure. Ceux qui ont vu récemment tauberbach (mise en scène d’Alain Platel et musique de Steven Prengels) savent que la palette de Steven Prengels est évidemment beaucoup plus variée que cela. Voici ce que racontait Prengels quelques mois avant le début des répétitions d’En avant, marche! : « Peut-être bien qu’il y aura effectivement une marche dans le spectacle, mais nous voulons surtout expérimenter: timbres et paysages sonores différenciés, rendu sonore stratifié, etc. Nous voulons faire un spectacle dans lequel l’action sur scène procède autant que possible de la musique. Le répertoire de la marche est donc trop étroit. Alain Platel se laisse volontiers inspirer par le répertoire classique. Dans ce projet, il s’agit surtout de musique des XIXe  et XXe siècle, de Ludwig Van Beethoven, Giuseppe Verdi et Gustav Mahler à la Brabançonne. Ce sont des musiques que nous arrangeons, parfois pour cuivres, parfois pour chœur… En ce qui concerne l’orchestration, en plus de la percussion, je voudrais surtout travailler avec des cuivres: trompette, cor, bugle, euphonium, tuba. Ce sera un moyen d’échapper aux sonorités triomphantes de la musique révérencieuse à laquelle on associe souvent les orchestres à vent. Avec des instruments comme le tuba et le cor, on peut aller dans le très profond, le très intense, presque comme avec un chœur. »
 
Et voici ce que dit Steven Prengels de ses interprètes musiciens: « En plus des acteurs, nous voulons sur scène un ensemble de sept musiciens. Les acteurs feront de la musique et les musiciens feront du théâtre. Nous allons aussi travailler avec la célèbre fanfare De Leiezonen, qui a participé à Aida du NTGent (mise en scène de Frank Van Laecke). Elle fournira une série de morceaux préenregistrés: ce matériel, nous le traiterons plus avant dans le soundscape. Enfin, nous collaborons avec des harmonies et des fanfares locales, dans les lieux où nous allons donner En avant, marche! Toutes ces composantes forment le matériau de base que nous expérimenterons pendant les répétitions. »
 
Steven Prengels connaît parfaitement le monde des fanfares. Il jouait dans une fanfare dès l’enfance et il en a dirigée une également, plus tard. Le titre En avant, marche! exprime l’idée que la musique est un moteur dans la vie des gens sur scène. Ainsi qu’un point de repère. « La musique comme une métaphore de quelque chose qui dépasse l’existence anecdotique d’une fanfare. Quelque chose de beaucoup plus grand, la société peut-être, ou la vie dans sa totalité. »